Proposed Major Changes and New Rapid Routes

Este página en español

Update 1/2/14: The Public Hearing for the proposed major 2014 service changes has been scheduled for Thursday, January 16, 2014 (details below).

Members of the public are invited to provide input on any of the proposals. The MTS Board of Directors will not make a decision on these changes until public testimony is received and considered. Please review the proposed changes and, if you wish, you can provide comments for the Public Hearing using any of the following methods:

• Public Testimony at the PUBLIC HEARING:

Thursday, January 16, 2014, 9:00 a.m.

1255 Imperial Avenue, 10th Floor (at the 12th/Imperial Transit Center)

San Diego, CA  92101

•  Telephone Hotline: (619) 595-4912 (Voice mail)

•  E-Mail:

•  U.S. Mail. Send to:  MTS Public Hearing Comments, 1255 Imperial Avenue,
    Suite 1000, San Diego, CA 9210

Comments sent via telephone hotline, e-mail, or U.S. Mail should be received by MTS by Wednesday, January 15, 2014.

Description of the Proposals:

In mid-2014, new MTS Rapid bus services in the Mid-City area and along the I-15 corridor will offer:

• Higher frequency and later hours

• Faster service

• Unique new stations and shelters

• Park-and-Ride lots at I-15 stations

• Priority at traffic signals

• New articulated buses

The Rapid C in Mid-City will replace Route 15 between Downtown and SDSU, via Park and El Cajon Blvds. The Rapid A will provide new service between Escondido and Downtown seven days a week, and the Rapid B will operate between Rancho Bernardo and UCSD during weekday peak hours. See map below.


MTS is also proposing significant changes to other routes in the system, including 14, 15, 20, 210, 810, 820, 844, 845, 850, 860, 880, 921, 950, 960, and 964. These proposals are outlined in the attached Take One document here (see Take One), also posted on MTS buses and Trolleys. Most changes would take effect in mid-2014.




Proposed Service Changes – UPDATE: January 7, 2014

MTS has received several hundred comments on the initial service change proposals presented last year here on and during outreach events in the community. This feedback has been used to refine our proposals for the January 16, 2014, Public Hearing, as shown below.


Description of Draft Proposal
Rapid A Downtown San Diego-Escondido Transit Center, via City Heights, Kearny Mesa, Mira Mesa Transit Station, Sabre Springs/Peñasquitos Transit Station, Rancho Bernardo Transit Station, Del Lago Transit Station. See proposed route map. Or, read step-by-step route instructions.
Rapid B Rancho Bernardo Transit Station-UCSD, via Sabre Springs/Peñasquitos Transit Station, Mira Mesa Transit Station. Intermediate stops also made at major points along Mira Mesa Blvd. and La Jolla Village Dr. See proposed route map. Or, read step-by-step route instructions.
Rapid C in Mid-City Downtown-SDSU; replaces Route 15 and serves El Cajon Blvd. & Park Blvd. See proposed route map. Or, read step-by-step route instructions.
New Route New Express route would offer weekday rush-hour service between City Heights transit plazas, Normal Heights and City College Trolley Station, via Adams Ave., Washington St., and Hwy. 163. Route would be operated as a trial for up to 12 months. See proposed route map. Or, read step-by-step route instructions.
14 Route 14 would be discontinued due to low ridership and productivity. 
15 To be replaced by the Rapid C in Mid-City. El Cajon Blvd. stops at Oregon, 33rd, and 59th will be served only by Routes 1 and/or 6. 
20 Northern terminal would be Rancho Bernardo Transit Station instead of Del Lago Transit Station. Service between Rancho Bernardo and Del Lago would be provided on Rapid A.  Service between Downtown and Kearny Mesa would operate every 15 minutes during rush hours, and all trips would serve Fashion Valley. Sunday Route 20 trips would no longer serve Hillcrest. See proposed route map.
210 Route 210 would travel via Hwy. 163 instead of I-15 & SR-94. Service on I-15 between Downtown and City Heights would be replaced by the new Rapid A. Schedule would be reduced from five daily round trips to three or four round trips. See proposed route map. Or, read step-by-step route instructions.
810 Route 810 could replaced by new Premium Express Route Px-1. Every trip would serve the Escondido Transit Center, Del Lago Transit Station, and Downtown. The Rancho Bernardo Transit Station would be served by Premium Express Route Px-2 instead. See proposed route map. Or, read step-by-step route instructions.
Routes 820, 850, and 860 could all be replaced by new Premium Express Route Px-2. Every Route Px-2 trip would serve Rancho Bernardo Transit Station, Sabre Springs/Peñasquitos Transit Station, and Downtown, but no neighborhood "tails." Local service in between Poway and Sabre Springs/Peñasquitos Transit Station would be offered on Route 844. Local service along Carmel Mountain Rd. would be provided on Route 20. See proposed route map. Or, read step-by-step route instructions.
844 Reconfigured to operate east-west along Poway Rd. between the Garden/Floral loop and the Sabre Springs/Peñasquitos Transit Station. Four daily loops on Route 845 would serve Espola Rd. and Poway High School. Service to Mt. Carmel High School would be discontinued. Service to Rancho Peñasquitos Blvd. would be provided on Route 20. See proposed route map. Or, read step-by-step route instructions.
845 Route would be extended north on Midland Road to Aubrey Street. The loop off Garden Road would be added to Route 844 instead. Four daily loops would serve Espola Rd. and Poway High School. See proposed route map. Or, read step-by-step route instructions.
880 Route 880 would be discontinued and partially replaced by new Rapid B. Funding for Route 880, currently provided by the developer of 4S Ranch, runs out in 2014.
921 The western terminal would change to UTC instead of UCSD. Service between UTC and UCSD and would be provided by the SuperLoop and Route 30. See proposed route map. Or, read step-by-step route instructions.
950 This trial Express route between Otay Mesa and Iris Trolley would become a regular (non-trial) route. 
960 Would change in Kearny Mesa to operate via Balboa Ave., Convoy St., and Clairemont Mesa Blvd. between I-15 and I-805. Service between the City Heights transit plazas and Clairemont Mesa Blvd. will still be provided, all-day on new Rapid A route, with stops at Ruffin Road, Overland Avenue, and Complex Street. Riders traveling between Euclid Trolley Station and the Kearny Mesa Transit Center could transfer between Route 960 and Rapid A at the City Heights transit plazas. See proposed route map. Or, read step-by-step route instructions.
964 Changes to operate all trips via the Mira Mesa Transit Station. The routing between Black Mountain Rd. and Alliant University changes to operate via Mira Mesa Blvd. and Scripps Ranch Blvd. instead of Carroll Canyon Rd. See proposed route map. Or, read step-by-step route instructions.
NOTE: All route numbers and designations are subject to change prior to implementation.


Home | Rider Alerts | Trip Planning |


eStore | Jobs | Business Opportunities | Rider Information
Customer Service | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | Title VI Policy

To report a problem with this site, click here
Copyright © 2015 MTS

Bus InfoTrolley Info
Mobile | Text
Transit System